Jumping for Joy

Pyongyang, North Korea

Pyongyang, North Korea

I was doing cartwheels and somersaults all around my mailbox when I discovered that the illusive nation of North Korea is finally represented in my postcard collection thanks to my Bulgarian friend, Zdravko, who also ensured that I got Monaco in my collection. The name of the city literally means “peaceful land” and is nicknamed “The Jerusalem of the East.” Pyongyang is also the capital of and largest city in the “Democratic People’s Republic of Korea” and is home to approximately 3.3 million people. The city was founded as early as 1122 BC, which makes it one of the oldest cities that I have a postcard from. It became the capital city of North Korea 1948. It is also no stranger to destruction, as it took a lot of damage during the First Sino-Japanese War and again during the Korean War in 1952, when it was bombed by 1400 UN aircraft. Very interesting and I am still so happy about this postcard! Thank you so much Zdravko!

2 thoughts on “Jumping for Joy

Leave a comment